News Detail

293rd Commencement

Ursuline Academy, founded 1727, conducted its 293rd commencement exercise on July 10 in The National Shrine of Our Lady of Prompt Succor. Honorable Keva Landrum, an Ursuline graduate of 1990, delivered the commencement address. Landrum is New Orleans’ first female African American chief criminal court judge. Prior to this appointment, she was also the city’s first female district attorney.
The ceremony began with the procession of the Class of 2020. Ursuline Academy’s Dean of Students, Sue Dorsey Heidel ’85, served as Mistress of Ceremonies, while Dean of Academics Jennie Guidry and Head of High School Dr. Tracy Bonday presented diplomas to the graduating seniors.
The valedictorian was Charlotte L. Fowler. Charlotte is the daughter of Dr. William and Sandi Fowler. She is a legacy student at Ursuline Academy, preceded by her mother. Charlotte was an active member of Diversity of Women for several years, and served as president of the club as a senior. She was a member of National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, and served on the cabinet of Tri-M Music Honor Society. She also was a member of Queen’s Players for all five years of high school and participated in several theatrical productions. Charlotte is a 2020 National Merit scholarship winner, a recipient of the Swarthmore Book Award, and placed in several Louisiana District and State Literary Rallies. She was awarded a scholarship to attend the University of Southern California.
The salutatorian was Allison M. Chevis. Allison is the daughter of Kay and Marcus Chevis. Allison was the president of Book Club and a member of Student Council. She participated in several organizations at Ursuline, including the high school chorus, Diversity of Women Club, Queen’s Players, Mu Alpha Theta, National Honor Society, and Tri-M Music Honor Society (where she served as vice president for two years). Allison has participated and placed in the LA District and State Literary Rallies for several years and was named a 2020 National Merit Finalist. She will be attending Michigan State University as a physics major and has been awarded the Alumni Distinguished Scholarship. 
The following students were ranked, along with the valedictorian and salutatorians, in the top ten of the graduating class: Camille E. Black, Kennedy M. Cooper, Anna Laura R. Figueroa, Isabelle G. Giangrosso, Taylor A. Jackson, Gloria E. Labatut Davies, Corinne M. Martin, and Hannah A. Rehm.
The highest award that Ursuline gives, the CLC Medal, is given in recognition of the senior who, in the opinion of the faculty, has exemplified to an outstanding degree the qualities of Courtesy, Loyalty, and Courage expected of the Ursuline student. The recipient of this year’s CLC Medal was Gloria Labatut Davies.
The Edward A. LaFaye Memorial Award is given for outstanding humanitarian service to those inside and outside of Ursuline Academy. It is decided by vote of the senior class. The seniors’ choice for this award was Gloria Labatut Davies.
The Sedes Sapientiae Medal, which takes its name from one of the titles of Our Lady “Seat of Wisdom,” is presented annually to the senior whose scholarship, achievement, and loyalty, in the opinion of the faculty, have been consistent and outstanding. This year’s recipient was Allison Chevis.
Abigail Price was selected as the 2020 Cor Unum Award recipient by the Ursuline Alumnae Association. Candidates are judged solely on their love for Ursuline Academy and their honest expression of what the Academy means to them.
The 69 graduates are Sarah X. Anselmo, Jila B. Azimi, Claire A. Bello, Mary M. Bernstein, Camille E. Black, Gabrielle M. Bordelon, Madison V. Bordelon, Abby R. Cancienne, Calyn G. Cantrelle, Allison M. Chevis, Abigail E. Clement, Kennedy M. Cooper,
Taylor R. Cornist, Hannah E. Davis, Mathilda C. de Monredon, Uma R. Dietzel, Amelia J. DiVincenti, Nadia M. Farley, Anna Laura R. Figueroa, Charlotte L. Fowler, Camille C. Gandy, Rita A. Gelpi, Isabelle G. Giangrosso, Emma E. Hery,
Khue A. Huynh, Taylor A. Jackson, Macy A. Jones, Katie R. Kaliszeski, Kathleen L. Keen, Aislinn J. Kincaid Nolan, Amari T. Korieocha, Samantha B. Kramer, Gloria E. Labatut Davies, Elsie A. LeBlanc, Mia A. LeBoutillier, Lindsey E. Long,
Lauren J. Marcello, Analise H. Marshall, Ava M. Marshall, Corinne M. Martin, Trinity G. Martin, Jordyn R. Maskas, Marley Z. Maxam, Ashley H. Mendoza, Claire E. Myers, Kiersten D. Nelson, Kennedy A. Nicholas, Sydney E. Owens,
Abigail C. Price, Riley E. Reech, Hannah A. Rehm, Allyson P. Rodriguez, Elizabeth M. Rojas, Mackie L. Rosamond, Sophie M. Rose, Christina G Scavo, Sophie R. Shields, Taylor A. Sontag, Samantha K. Sullivan, Skylar J. Thibodeaux,
Aaliyah C. Thompson, Haley I. Tingler, Minh Minh H. Tran, Ally E. Veron, Demi A. Villavaso, Alyssa M. Walker, Briana M. Williams, Sidonie T. Wolf, and Jennifer Claire Young.