News Detail

295th Commencement

Ursuline Academy of New Orleans conducted its 295th commencement exercise on May 21, 2022 in the school’s auditorium. The Honorable Monique G. Morial, an Ursuline graduate of 1988, delivered the commencement address. Judge Morial currently serves in Orleans First City Court, Section A.

The ceremony began with an invocation by Sister Regina Marie Fronmüller, OSU, Ursuline Sister and Board of Trustees member. Ursuline Academy’s Dean of Students, Sue Heidel, served as Mistress of Ceremonies, while Principal Dr. Judy Armstrong and Academy President Dr. Karen Jakuback presented awards and diplomas to the graduating seniors.

The valedictorian was Anna Atkins, the daughter of Jenea and Dr. Steven Atkins. Anna was Vice-President of Key Club and a member of National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta, and Jesuit Jayettes. She was also an Audubon Zoo Jr. Keeper, where she served as President of Youth Council. Anna was named a 2021 Carson Scholar. She will attend Rhodes College in Memphis, Tennessee on the Cambridge Scholarship and will major in Biology and minor in Environmental on a Pre-Vet track.

The salutatorian was Hebah Mohiuddin, the daughter of Dr. Anjuman Ara and Syed Mohiuddin. Hebah was Vice-President of National Honor Society, Secretary of Mu Alpha Theta, Secretary of Diversity of Women Club, and a member of Key Club. She participated in district rallies and went to state rally for Geometry. She received the President’s Scholarship, Legacy Scholarship and Louisiana Resident Scholarship from Loyola University New Orleans. She will attend Loyola and will major in Psychology on the Pre-Med track.

The following students were ranked, along with the valedictorian and salutatorian, in the top ten of the graduating class: McKenna K. Brannan, Isabelle C. Foret, Nya D. Harrison, Bailey E. Haynes, Sophia I. Law, Sweden L. Ledet, Ava L. Prestenbach, and Taylor N. Ulmer.

The highest award that Ursuline gives, the CLC Medal, is given in recognition of the senior who, in the opinion of the faculty, has exemplified to an outstanding degree the qualities of Courtesy, Loyalty, and Courage expected of the Ursuline student. The recipient of this year’s CLC Medal was Sweden L. Ledet.

The Sr. Damian Aycock, OSU Award is given for outstanding humanitarian service to those inside and outside of Ursuline Academy. It is decided by vote of the senior class. The seniors’ choice for this award was Morgan C. Bennett.

The Sedes Sapientiae Medal, which takes its name from one of the titles of Our Lady “Seat of Wisdom,” is presented annually to the senior whose scholarship, achievement, and loyalty, in the opinion of the faculty, have been consistent and outstanding. This year’s recipient was Bailey E. Haynes.

Mya N. Falgout was selected as the 2022 Cor Unum Award recipient by the Ursuline Alumnae Association. Candidates are judged solely on their love for Ursuline Academy and their honest expression of what the Academy means to them.

The 61 graduates earned a total of $10.2 million in four-year scholarships.